PDA

View Full Version : Thankful Thursday

FlaGator
04-23-2009, 01:15 AM
It looks to be another beautiful spring day here in North Florida. Temps in the mid 70's and clear blue skies!

TOTD: The thought of the day will be basically my thoughts about today and what it means to me. I feel compelled to share this so that others may find some hope in my story. As of today Iíve been clean and sober for 3 years. I can in no way take credit for this because I did nothing to bring it about. God literally took the urge away from me. To set the stage, I had been drinking since I was 15 years old and drinking heavily since I was 18. I had managed to stay sober and off drugs for a few months here and there but no matter my intentions I always found an excuse to once again pick up a drink or a drug. Between the age of 37 and 45 I had pretty much accepted the fact that I was an alcoholic and a drug addict and quit trying to quit using. I had been arrested 3 or 4 times for various drinking offenses and I had 2 DUIs. Three years ago yesterday I got my third DUI.
I sat in jail and felt pretty certain that my life was over. My intention at that point was to get out of jail, go home and kill myself. I finally got bailed out at around 5:00 p.m. on the April 23rd. I went home and started to plot my death. I donít like pain so cutting my wrists or shooting myself was out of the question. I figured that I would put a Led Zeppelin CD in the stereo in my car, start it up in the garage and wait for the inevitable to take place. Basically being a coward I started putting it off. As I lay in my bed enjoying my misery and self-pity the Lord broke in to my thoughts for a personal service announcement. He simply said hang on and things will get better. The emotion I felt could not be denied. It seemed that the voice understood and sympathized. At any rate, I didnít do anything that night. After several days I noticed that I hadnít thought about or wanted a drink.