PDA

View Full Version : Nature or nurture - what makes people evil?

SaintLouieWoman
08-23-2009, 02:22 PM
This book review was written by a former neighbor, a man who is on the board of the St Louis Zoo. He's a very interesting man, an investment broker by trade, who has a home that looks like a contemporary art museum. He and his wife are very literate, interesting people.

I'd recommend reading his evaluation of two books examining the nature of evil, with both authors having a medical background.

A long ago friend, a psychiatrist who worked with disturbed children, claimed that some children should just have little electric-chair/rocking horses, because they were evil and disturbed from birth. I hated to think that could be true, but after reading the comments on tthe two books, it just might be the case, something wired into them, scary thought.

http://www.stltoday.com/stltoday/entertainment/reviews.nsf/book/story/02F75B4A6F7DEB508625761A0003DE3C?OpenDocument

'Cruelty,' 'The Anatomy of Evil

by joseph losos

SPECIAL TO THE POST-DISPATCH

08/23/2009

"Not only had we become criminals, we had become a ferocious species in a barbarous world."

Kathleen Taylor so quotes a repentant perpetrator in the Rwandan genocide, and this sums up the issue that two new books discuss: How is it that Homo sapiens, our self-designated wise species, can be so cruel, so inclined to evil?

This question has worried humans for millennia. Is evil, a trait we now observe in other primates, intrinsic? Or is it the result of ill fortune? Most pressing, can it be avoided or even stamped out?

Authors Taylor and Michael H. Stone are medically trained scholars, so they consider this from a partly scientific viewpoint.