PDA

View Full Version : Microsoft Windows 7 Problem 'Could Affect Millions'



megimoo
12-01-2009, 06:46 PM
"Stay With XP.Avoid 'The Latest And Greatest' Like the Plague. Especially New Operating Systems !"

"Microsoft has tested Windows 7 in house as much as they can.Now the end users will debug the rest for them.The pain and agony will be yours until this
thing finally matures and error handlers allow graceful exception handling so the thing no longer crashes."

Microsoft said it is looking in to reports that some computers running Windows 7 crash as soon as the user logs on Users have been complaining on internet forums about the ''black screen of death'', which causes the screen of their Windows 7 machine to turn black and the computer to crash when a user logs on.

Microsoft confirmed that it was investigating the possibility that a security update, released on Thursday, could be the root of the problem but later said that it was not the cause.

"Microsoft has investigated reports that its November security updates made changes to permissions in the registry that that are resulting in system issues for some customers," a statement read.

"The cause appears to be a change in the Windows operating system lockdown of registry keys," said Dave Kennerley, a support engineer with Prevx. "This change has the effect of invalidating several key registry entries if they are updated without consideration of the new ACL (access control list) rules being applied."


http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/microsoft/6701494/Microsoft-Windows-7-problem-could-affect-millions.html

FlaGator
12-02-2009, 07:41 AM
I've experienced no problems and I am more than happy that I switch all my computers to Windows 7.

Full-Auto
12-31-2009, 01:28 AM
I'm running W7 and while it has a few glitches, it's better than Vista. I've not had the black screen of death, but I know someone who has.

I wouldn't run W7 if my company/livelihood depended on reliability... Windows sucks compared to more stable OS's out there (OSX and Linux) but it's fun to tinker with and play games on. :)

Rockntractor
12-31-2009, 01:42 AM
I don't have any trouble with XP and I have home, media edition ,pro and tablet. I have one running vista home without a glitch. I'm sure I won't have any trouble when I start running seven either. Problems are normally caused by third party software and drivers .

Full-Auto
12-31-2009, 09:29 AM
I don't have any trouble with XP and I have home, media edition ,pro and tablet. I have one running vista home without a glitch. I'm sure I won't have any trouble when I start running seven either. Problems are normally caused by third party software and drivers .

True, many of the problems I've encountered with Windows over the years is with software and drivers. Ironically, I don't have this problem with OSX. I suspect most of it is due to the fact Apple is the sole manufacturer of their systems whereas Windows machines are a hodgepodge of components - some work well and others don't.

Even the top PC manufacturers use a mixed-matched group of components from the lowest bidders which means I've had just as much trouble over the years with my Gateways and Dells as I have had with my home built systems. But I've learned if you want to build a PC that works better than most, you're better off doing the research and buying components that you know will work.

With Apple, you simply plug it in, turn it on and it works. There's no defragging of drives, cleaning of registries, malware to worry about or even viruses.

Speaking of XP, it's the last Windows OS that I found to be somewhat stable. You can't install a bunch of stuff to it and keep it running smoothly, so for serious work in the past I've ran two systems. One with a clean install with only my work applications and another with my games and where I install various new applications to see how they work.

Again, with OSX I have no need for such a practice.

But, again... I am enjoying W7. I grew up on Windows and have been a user my entire life. I switched to OSX when I needed a new machine in 2006 simply because I installed Vista on my PC of the time and discovered it was an unstable, bloated, driverless nightmare that was typical MS bloatware. That's when I decided to give OSX a try. I installed both XP and OSX on my Apple because I wasn't sure OSX would suit my needs. A year later I removed the XP partition as I never used it. That's when I realized OSX was a far better OS than anything Microsoft had devised.

Now that I'm on Windows 7 (which I'm typing this message from) I realize that Windows still is glitchy compared to OSX. Little things... like my most recent Windows challenge. I'm trying to uncompress an archived ISO image that's 8GB in size. At 4GB WinRAR stops with an error saying NTFS can't handle files larger than 4GB and closes. So far I've not found a workaround, but I have a couple of days off so I can hopefully find something. The joys of Windows ownership.

Thank God I have I have OSX which didn't give me this error so I was able to decompress the ISO, burn it and install it on my Windows system.

Again, OSX simply works. It's the little things that make it so much easier to use and to trust. If you don't use it and you're used to Windows (like i used to be for some 20 years), you'll never know just how amazing OSX is.

Full-Auto
12-31-2009, 10:17 AM
Here's my home system:

http://www.intempusphotography.com/photos/753804417_jT9TB-M.jpg

Just thought I would share.

The Dell monitor in the middle is connected to the Mac (as you can probably tell). It's a great monitor, I bought it with my last Windows system about 4-5 years ago. I'll miss it when it dies. :)

hampshirebrit
12-31-2009, 10:33 AM
Again, OSX simply works. It's the little things that make it so much easier to use and to trust. If you don't use it and you're used to Windows (like i used to be for some 20 years), you'll never know just how amazing OSX is.

Great summary, and pretty similar to my experience. I have to use M$ for work, both clients and servers. I have a home-built server running Win 2003 R2 Enterprise Edition, which I use for running VMWare Server to run proof-of-concept labs for work projects. I have an HP DL380 server for heavy duty stuff, but it's noisy as hell and heats the room up if left on for too long. I have a nasty Dell laptop that weighs a ton and constantly runs hot, which I have to lug around the UK and Belgium for work.

I decided this year that I had enough of being frustrated with Windows bloatware for 8 hours a day, and that I would give Mac a try for all the non-work related stuff. At the same time, I also decided to completely segregate work and non-work network traffic, including email and web browsing. So I got a Mac Mini and hooked it up to the TV and sound system, and then an iPhone.

I'm very pleased with the outcome, pleased enough to have gone out and got a MacBook Pro for taking on my own travels. Like Tim says, this stuff just works out of the box and works well.

Full-Auto
12-31-2009, 10:33 AM
OMG, too funny. Right after I posted that last message my Windows 7 machine started opening applications on it's own and I lost control of the mouse. I had to hit the power button to make it stop.

LOL, f'in Windows. I'm now typing this from my Mac as I reboot my Windows machine.

****Edit: I suspect this most recent Windows boo-boo is the result of my Logitech G5 mouse. I installed the most recent drivers this morning which I'm sure is at the root of my problem. Back in the XP days I bought a Logitech mouse and it destroyed my XP box when installed the OEM driver package. I didn't do a back-up prior to doing the driver install... I thought "what could go wrong with a mouse?". I spent the next day rebuilding my system as it simply wouldn't come back from the dead after the failed install.

Rockntractor
12-31-2009, 10:52 AM
OMG, too funny. Right after I posted that last message my Windows 7 machine started opening applications on it's own and I lost control of the mouse. I had to hit the power button to make it stop.

LOL, f'in Windows. I'm now typing this from my Mac as I reboot my Windows machine.

Honestly i don't know why you guys have all the problems. Sometimes I will leave my main computer booted for a month at a time without shutting it down without a problem. one other thing, keep background programs in the tray to a minimum. I have had problems in the past with certain memory configurations. When i upgrade memory on a machine that I am unfamiliar with I do a Google search of the forums and look for problems before I buy a specific module. Any more I deal with laptops more than towers. Laptop components seem to be of better quality and are better matched then in desktop computers. Since the dual cores came out the speed is great.

FlaGator
12-31-2009, 10:58 AM
Here's my home system:

http://www.intempusphotography.com/photos/753804417_jT9TB-M.jpg

Just thought I would share.

The Dell monitor in the middle is connected to the Mac (as you can probably tell). It's a great monitor, I bought it with my last Windows system about 4-5 years ago. I'll miss it when it dies. :)

That looks a lot like my set up. I'll post a pic when I get home.

FlaGator
12-31-2009, 11:03 AM
OMG, too funny. Right after I posted that last message my Windows 7 machine started opening applications on it's own and I lost control of the mouse. I had to hit the power button to make it stop.

LOL, f'in Windows. I'm now typing this from my Mac as I reboot my Windows machine.

****Edit: I suspect this most recent Windows boo-boo is the result of my Logitech G5 mouse. I installed the most recent drivers this morning which I'm sure is at the root of my problem. Back in the XP days I bought a Logitech mouse and it destroyed my XP box when installed the OEM driver package. I didn't do a back-up prior to doing the driver install... I thought "what could go wrong with a mouse?". I spent the next day rebuilding my system as it simply wouldn't come back from the dead after the failed install.

I have never had the problems that you are experiencing. I get an occassional lockup because of some bad code I've written but I do a lot of development of database application and web apps. The file server in my living room runs Sever 2008 and on it I have SQL Server 2008, My SQL, Apache, Php and SharePoint. I spend a lot of time pushing my 7 workstation which contains my development environment to the limit. On it I have Visual Studio 2008 database addition Adobe Creative Studio 4, Silverlight and Expression Studio. Honestly I have never had the difficulties that your are having.

Rockntractor
12-31-2009, 11:08 AM
I know you guys look at me like a hick that drives a tractor. I have built more computers than i can count and did it for several years. I built all the computers and maintained and networked them for a chain of optical stores in Tulsa. In the early eighties I had the first apple computer made and learned how to program in apple basic long before anyone had any interest in computers. I had a part time computer and photography business for several years while I worked in machine shops as a tool maker. I pretty much quite at the end of 2003 and bought my equipment and went into tractor work. I got tired of the tech calls in the evening when people would do stupid shit.

Full-Auto
12-31-2009, 11:20 AM
Honestly i don't know why you guys have all the problems. Sometimes I will leave my main computer booted for a month at a time without shutting it down without a problem. one other thing, keep background programs in the tray to a minimum. I have had problems in the past with certain memory configurations. When i upgrade memory on a machine that I am unfamiliar with I do a Google search of the forums and look for problems before I buy a specific module. Any more I deal with laptops more than towers. Laptop components seem to be of better quality and are better matched then in desktop computers. Since the dual cores came out the speed is great.

It's nothing unique to me. Lots of people have little issues with Windows. Google bares this simple fact out. It's usually nothing major, but it is tiresome constantly debugging various applications and drivers.

My G5 mouse issue isn't surprising. The drivers are first generation 64bit drivers. I'm sure there will be several releases before Logitech gets the bugs worked out. Meanwhile, my Mighty Mouse has no such issues. :)

As for the 4GB error and the ISO image, do you have any idea how to work around this annoying issue?

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m167/tharmsen/error_screen_shot.png

***Despite what the error says, there is over 500GB available on the disk where the decompression is taking place.

FlaGator
12-31-2009, 11:25 AM
It's nothing unique to me. Lots of people have little issues with Windows. Google bares this simple fact out. It's usually nothing major, but it is tiresome constantly debugging various applications and drivers.

My G5 mouse issue isn't surprising. The drivers are first generation 64bit drivers. I'm sure there will be several releases before Logitech gets the bugs worked out. Meanwhile, my Mighty Mouse has no such issues. :)

As for the 4GB error and the ISO image, do you have any idea how to work around this annoying issue?

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m167/tharmsen/error_screen_shot.png

***Despite what the error says, there is over 500GB available on the disk where the decompression is taking place.

Are you using NTFS and what is the size of the biggest file in the archive if you are extracting or what is the size of the archive if you are compressing?

FlaGator
12-31-2009, 11:28 AM
I know you guys look at me like a hick that drives a tractor. I have built more computers than i can count and did it for several years. I built all the computers and maintained and networked them for a chain of optical stores in Tulsa. In the early eighties I had the first apple computer made and learned how to program in apple basic long before anyone had any interest in computers. I had a part time computer and photography business for several years while I worked in machine shops as a tool maker. I pretty much quite at the end of 2003 and bought my equipment and went into tractor work. I got tired of the tech calls in the evening when people would do stupid shit.

I never judge a book by its cover...

marv
12-31-2009, 11:49 AM
I know you guys look at me like a hick that drives a tractor. I have built more computers than i can count and did it for several years. I built all the computers and maintained and networked them for a chain of optical stores in Tulsa. In the early eighties I had the first apple computer made and learned how to program in apple basic long before anyone had any interest in computers. I had a part time computer and photography business for several years while I worked in machine shops as a tool maker. I pretty much quite at the end of 2003 and bought my equipment and went into tractor work. I got tired of the tech calls in the evening when people would do stupid shit.

I sympathize. My Federal government career was IBM mainframe and operating systems installation and maintenance for the Federal Reserve, USDA, Interior and DoD. I still cringe when I recall those 3am calls.

The lesson is to ALWAYS avoid the rusting edge and NEVER venture to the bleeding edge. When your apps stop running, upgrade to a release that other users have already debugged.

P.S., I also build my own PCs. With off the shelf stuff, it's easier to upgrade the hardware.

jawilljr
12-31-2009, 11:49 AM
It's nothing unique to me. Lots of people have little issues with Windows. Google bares this simple fact out. It's usually nothing major, but it is tiresome constantly debugging various applications and drivers.

My G5 mouse issue isn't surprising. The drivers are first generation 64bit drivers. I'm sure there will be several releases before Logitech gets the bugs worked out. Meanwhile, my Mighty Mouse has no such issues. :)

As for the 4GB error and the ISO image, do you have any idea how to work around this annoying issue?

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m167/tharmsen/error_screen_shot.png

***Despite what the error says, there is over 500GB available on the disk where the decompression is taking place.


I'll bet you are using FAT32. If you are then go to the 2 links below. NTFS max file file size is about 16TB. Max file size for FAT32 is 4GB.

How to convert a FAT16 volume or a FAT32 volume to an NTFS file system in Windows XP (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307881)

Windows File Systems (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc766145%28WS.10%29.aspx)

Jerry

Rockntractor
12-31-2009, 11:59 AM
I sympathize. My Federal government career was IBM mainframe and operating systems instalation and maintenance for the Federal Reserve, USDA, Interior and DoD. I still cringe when I recall those 3am calls.

The lesson is to ALWAYS avoid the rusting edge and NEVER venture to the bleeding edge. When your apps stop running, upgrade to a release that other users have already debugged.

P.S., I also build my own PCs. With off the shelf stuff, it's easier to upgrade the hardware.

At first it's great for the ego, everybody happy because you are solving their problems but after awhile it becomes several hours a week and cuts into your free time. I don't tell most people now that i know anything about computers. people will come over to visit and I have computers everywhere I use two at my desk one in my bathroom, one in the powder keg where I reload. one in the truck. I like to buy parts laptops on ebay and fix them, but don't tell anybody!

Full-Auto
12-31-2009, 12:18 PM
I'll bet you are using FAT32. If you are then go to the 2 links below. NTFS max file file size is about 16TB. Max file size for FAT32 is 4GB.

How to convert a FAT16 volume or a FAT32 volume to an NTFS file system in Windows XP (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307881)

Windows File Systems (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc766145%28WS.10%29.aspx)

Jerry

You know what, you're right. The external drive I'm using is FAT32. Thanks!

FlaGator
12-31-2009, 12:27 PM
You know what, you're right. The external drive I'm using is FAT32. Thanks!

That was what I was trying to get at in my last post. I've ran in to this problem before.

Constitutionally Speaking
12-31-2009, 06:30 PM
"Stay With XP.Avoid 'The Latest And Greatest' Like the Plague. Especially New Operating Systems !"

"Microsoft has tested Windows 7 in house as much as they can.Now the end users will debug the rest for them.The pain and agony will be yours until this
thing finally matures and error handlers allow graceful exception handling so the thing no longer crashes."

Microsoft said it is looking in to reports that some computers running Windows 7 crash as soon as the user logs on Users have been complaining on internet forums about the ''black screen of death'', which causes the screen of their Windows 7 machine to turn black and the computer to crash when a user logs on.

Microsoft confirmed that it was investigating the possibility that a security update, released on Thursday, could be the root of the problem but later said that it was not the cause.

"Microsoft has investigated reports that its November security updates made changes to permissions in the registry that that are resulting in system issues for some customers," a statement read.

"The cause appears to be a change in the Windows operating system lockdown of registry keys," said Dave Kennerley, a support engineer with Prevx. "This change has the effect of invalidating several key registry entries if they are updated without consideration of the new ACL (access control list) rules being applied."


http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/microsoft/6701494/Microsoft-Windows-7-problem-could-affect-millions.html




Great!:rolleyes: I'm in the market for a new computer and this is what I'm gonna get stuck with!?!?!?!

patriot45
12-31-2009, 06:34 PM
Wow! I read this two fast! I thought it said... Microsoft Windows 7 Problem 'Could Affect Muslims!
I need to get your eyes checked!

Rockntractor
12-31-2009, 06:35 PM
Great!:rolleyes: I'm in the market for a new computer and this is what I'm gonna get stuck with!?!?!?!

Give it a couple of months and it will be just fine. Leo Laporte the tech guy gives Windows 7 great reviews and he is hard to satisfy. On his last show he said they had caught up with apple and he has always preferred Apple.
http://twit.tv/

Rockntractor
12-31-2009, 06:36 PM
Wow! I read this two fast! I thought it said... Microsoft Windows 7 Problem 'Could Affect Muslims!
I need to get your eyes checked!

I think your hardware is fine. It's a software problem!

FlaGator
12-31-2009, 06:42 PM
I think your hardware is fine. It's a software problem!

How many software engineers does it take to change a light bulb?

Rockntractor
12-31-2009, 06:53 PM
How many software engineers does it take to change a light bulb?
Ummm you got me, how many?

FlaGator
12-31-2009, 06:55 PM
Ummm you got me, how many?

None, that is a hardware problem.

SarasotaRepub
01-01-2010, 09:30 AM
My Windows 7 has been working just fine. :confused:

And it is faster than XP to the eye.

swirling_vortex
01-01-2010, 09:03 PM
I've been running 7 since the RC came out and I've never encountered any kind of issue with it. If you have Vista, it's definately worth the upgrade.

hampshirebrit
01-01-2010, 10:13 PM
My Windows 7 has been working just fine. :confused:

And it is faster than XP to the eye.

A snail would be faster to the eye than would XP. XP is slower than a slow thing at a slow contest. :D

Hey, can you finally rotate objects using trackpad gestures in Windoze 7, like you can on OSX?

Rockntractor
01-01-2010, 10:22 PM
A
Hey, can you finally rotate objects using trackpad gestures in Windoze 7, like you can on OSX?

Why would you want too?:confused::D

hampshirebrit
01-01-2010, 10:31 PM
Why would you want too?:confused::D

Flip portrait<>landscape for a pic, for one. On the iPhone, have an iBeer. Shit like that. :p

http://www.slipperybrick.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/ibeer.jpg

Rockntractor
01-01-2010, 10:33 PM
Flip portrait<>landscape for a pic, for one. On the iPhone, have an iBeer. Shit like that. :p

http://www.slipperybrick.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/ibeer.jpg

Oh, yes of course!:D

hampshirebrit
01-02-2010, 01:00 AM
That's not me, by the way, obviously. My iPhone is newer than that one.

Rockntractor
01-02-2010, 01:03 AM
That's not me, by the way, obviously. My iPhone is newer than that one.
Around here you can only get an Iphone with ATT and their coverage is not very good in the areas where I work. I use a blackberry with uscellular.

hampshirebrit
01-02-2010, 01:32 AM
Around here you can only get an Iphone with ATT and their coverage is not very good in the areas where I work. I use a blackberry with uscellular.

iPhone just opened up in the UK. They were o2 only (my contract) but now Tescos (your PathMark) and soon Orange will have them. Less monthly charge, but a higher buy-in.

iPhone is so worth it, though. It's the first cell-phone I've considered worth paying for, after ten years or more of having work paying all my cellular freight.

Work still would pay, but I'm happy to pay an extra 30/mo, it's that good. For that, in the UK, we get unlimited 3G data. WeeWeeWee, email and webapp like a mofo, anywhere, it's free.

Rockntractor
01-02-2010, 01:42 AM
Apple made a deal with ATT around here and they are the sole provider.