PDA

View Full Version : Friday Thread : Who's running in your state?

linda22003
01-22-2010, 08:28 AM
Drizzly cold Friday in the DC area.

TOTD: Are there any Scott Browns lurking in your states, ready to pull a November surprise? Who's an incumbent ready to fall off the political tree in your state, out of sheer rotten over-ripeness?
This is Virginia, we have nothing up in the Senate this year, and we were part of the "hope and change '09" vanguard last year; our GOP governor just took office last weekend.

Rebel Yell
01-22-2010, 08:59 AM
Sonny Perdue's term limit is up this year. Roy Barnes, who we ran out of office when Sonny went in, is trying to get back in. On the GOP side, we have John Oxendine. He is the insurance commisioner now, and a damn good one. I work in insurance, and see how he walks the line between the customers and the companies. I think he'll win it in a walk.

lacarnut
01-22-2010, 09:01 AM
It is a warm, sunny, lovely day in Bayou Land.

TOTD: Repub. Senator Vitter from LA is up for re-election. He is up by 18 points in the latest poll. Shame Mary Landrieu is not; she has 5 more years on her term.

linda22003
01-22-2010, 09:16 AM
Vitter's the one who had the "Elliot Spitzer problem", right?

djones520
01-22-2010, 09:29 AM
TOTD: Hoekstra is running for Mich. Gov this year. Thats about all that I'm following. Not sure whose gonna replace his House seat if he gets it though. That's got me a bit concerned. His district has been growing a bit more blue the last few elections, and I'm not sure if a new no named Republican candidate will be able to take it.

Gingersnap
01-22-2010, 09:39 AM
It's cold and snowing in the high country. It looks kind of bleak for the weekend.