PDA

View Full Version : U.S. successfully tests airborne laser on missile



djones520
02-12-2010, 05:14 PM
WASHINGTON, Feb 12 (Reuters) - A U.S. high-powered airborne laser weapon shot down a ballistic missile in the first successful test of a futuristic directed energy weapon, the U.S. Missile Defense Agency said on Friday.

Stocks

The agency said in a statement the test took place at 8:44 p.m. PST (11:44 p.m. EST) on Thursday /0444 GMT on Friday) at Point Mugu's Naval Air Warfare Center-Weapons Division Sea Range off Ventura in central California.

"The Missile Defense Agency demonstrated the potential use of directed energy to defend against ballistic missiles when the Airborne Laser Testbed (ALTB) successfully destroyed a boosting ballistic missile" the agency said.

The high-powered Airborne Laser system is being developed by Boeing Co., (BA.N) the prime contractor, and the U.S. Missile Defense Agency.

Boeing produces the airframe, a modified 747 jumbo jet, while Northrop Grumman (NOC.N) supplies the higher-energy laser and Lockheed Martin (LMT.N) is developing the beam and fire control systems


http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSN1111660620100212?type=marketsNews

Death Star next? Anyone seen SR lately?

Apache
02-12-2010, 05:16 PM
Death Star next? Anyone seen SR lately?

Yeah, I handed him the keys to the Earthquake Machine, why?



:D

JB
02-12-2010, 06:12 PM
Excellent.