PDA

View Full Version : Rel: What do you believe?

Articulate_Ape
02-18-2010, 09:48 PM
As I am relatively new to CU, and certain people have made assumptions about my spiritual beliefs, I thought I would create a thread that addresses this issue as it relates to all members who wish to opine on this subject. I am doing this so that I might have a better handle on where each of you stands with regard to your beliefs in a god, or lack thereof, and your reason for selecting your religious affiliation if you have one.

I would ask that you follow the format below in your responses (each of which is optional) and that all comments remain on topic. I further ask that respect for the opinions of others' prevails at all times.

I will go first in the example format that I ask that you follow.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Do you believe in God (Yes/No): Yes

2. If you answered Yes to #1, very briefly explain why (you can expound later): Mostly because I just know there is more to all of this than meets our natural senses. But also because science, rather than disproving God, validates God's existence to me with each new discovery.

3. If you answered No to #1; very briefly explain why (you can expound later):

2. What is your religious affiliation? None

3. How much of the Bible have you read?
All of it ( X )
Mostly the Old Testament ( )
Mostly the New Testament ( )
A little of both ( )
None ( )

4. Do you believe the Bible is the literal word of God? No

5. Have you explored the history of the Bible (its stories, how today's Bible came about, etc.)? Yes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So answer and discuss.

If you choose to participate, thanks.

patriot45
02-18-2010, 09:53 PM
Shouldn't this be in Sports. :cool::rolleyes:

Articulate_Ape
02-18-2010, 09:55 PM
Shouldn't this be in Sports. :cool::rolleyes: