PDA

View Full Version : "Rather Have My Child Die Than Use A Gun?"

megimoo
02-26-2010, 07:30 AM
Guns, Teachers, and Self-Defense(Ma)
"A frightening view into the mind of a Spineless Liberal Coward or is it satire ?"

If you were having trouble understanding anti-gun people, this will not help. A high school math teacher named Doug Van Gorder wrote a letter to the Boston Globe decrying the idea of having self-defense guns in schools. In part of his letter, he shows what can surely be described as one of the most telling views into the minds of gun banners.

I AM a math teacher at Brockton High School, the site of a school shooting earlier this month.
snip
An alternative to lockdown is immediate exodus via announcement. Although this removes potential hostages and makes it nearly impossible for the shooter to acquire preselected targets, it unfairly rewards resourceful children who move to safety off-site more shrewdly and efficiently than others.

Schools should level playing fields, not intrinsically reward those more resourceful. A level barrel is fair to all fish.
snip
But as a progressive, I would sooner lay my child to rest than succumb to the belief that the use of a gun for self-defense is somehow not in itself a gun crime.

I simply have nothing to add to that.

http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/f-news/2459630/posts

NJCardFan
02-26-2010, 08:55 AM
I don't have the words. And to think this moron is teaching children.

aerojarod
02-26-2010, 09:31 AM
My suspicions about this line make me think it's heavy satire:

"...it unfairly rewards resourceful children who move to safety off-site more shrewdly and efficiently than others."

FlaGator
02-26-2010, 09:33 AM

"...it unfairly rewards resourceful children who move to safety off-site more shrewdly and efficiently than others."

The problem is that I have seen things of a similar nature on DU.

aerojarod
02-26-2010, 09:42 AM