PDA

View Full Version : Fractious Friday

linda22003
05-14-2010, 08:45 AM
TOTD: I have a performance review this morning and while I have nothing to fear from it, I find it an artificial, stilted moment in what is otherwise a comfortable working relationship. Do you have regular reviews? Do you get much out of them?

Oh, and the weather. There's some out there. It's murky and will be 90 today, up from yesterday's 60.

FlaGator
05-14-2010, 09:01 AM
TOTD: I have a performance review this morning and while I have nothing to fear from it, I find it an artificial, stilted moment in what is otherwise a comfortable working relationship. Do you have regular reviews? Do you get much out of them?

Oh, and the weather. There's some out there. It's murky and will be 90 today, up from yesterday's 60.

Another warm and sunny day here in Florida.

As a consultant I don't have to do reviews anymore. If I'm not cutting it, they just cancel my contract. When I did do them I found them to be, at best, uncomfortable because I was to define my performance for my boss and see if my assessment agreed with his. I would much more have perferred for him or her to tell me what they thought I was doing right and where I was lacking and then discuss a plan to improve in the lacking area(s).

noonwitch
05-14-2010, 09:25 AM
It's the first nice day in a while. It's sunny and expected to be in the 60s, after a rainy and cold week. It's the first good hair day all week.

TOTD: I hate performance reviews, but they do require the kind of bullshit writing skills that I learned in 11th grade, so at least they make me feel like having an education paid off in some way.

Gingersnap
05-14-2010, 01:34 PM
It's not snowing and it's not freezing. Yay! The ground is too wet to work in, though.