PDA

View Full Version : A quick note to anyone who goes to bars, restaurants, etc.

SarasotaRepub
10-03-2010, 11:42 AM
OMFG!!! (http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x9245396) Pitt is a Bouncer!!!

WilliamPitt (1000+ posts) Sun Oct-03-10 05:00 AM
Original message A quick note to anyone who goes to bars, restaurants, etc.

Just got home from my night job, and wanted to share a thought...and a request.

Short back-story: I've been working for Truthout for almost ten years now, it's a non-profit organization, and we got creamed when the economy tanked. We rely 100% on donations to operate, and when the economic shit hit the trickle-down fan two Decembers ago, the donations pretty much evaporated completely. I volunteered to take a savage pay cut to help keep the place afloat, and in order to make ends meet, got a night job as a bouncer at a downtown bar. For the record, matters have improved, my salary has returned to almost what it was, but I've held on to the night job because the extra scratch is tremendously helpful, and because I actually enjoy the work (mostly).

(More at the linky, as usual with Pitt, he babbles on way too fucking long.) :rolleyes:

:D

Beefeater
10-03-2010, 03:00 PM
Oh yeah, and somehow Wee Willie even tried to turn it into the 1st honorable thing he's ever done in his pathetic little life...

http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=389x8203993

WilliamPitt (1000+ posts) Fri Apr-23-10 04:53 PM
Original message
Do The Right Thing

Edited on Fri Apr-23-10 05:02 PM by WilliamPitt

(Illustration: Lance Page / t r u t h o u t)

Do The Right Thing
By William Rivers Pitt
t r u t h o u t | Op-Ed

Friday 23 April 2010

For a number of years, the running joke about me among my friends was that, because I write for a living, I'm a bum. They didn't really mean it,

Oh yes we did Wm.

But the killer quote...