PDA

View Full Version : Obama's Way, or the Highway!

Red_wolf_rising
01-09-2012, 10:08 AM
"I was a constitutional law professor, which means unlike the current president I actually respect the Constitution." --Barack Obama, March 30, 2007 fundraiser

Hmmm, that’s interesting. At a fundraiser on March 30, 2007 located in Tallahassee, Florida, Obama led people to believe he respects the Constitution…. Then how come news articles all over the internet, including CBS News, Fox News, and even the ever-liberal Communist News Network (More commonly known as CNN) all feature articles about how Obama is bypassing congress?
January 4th, 2012, Obama appointed Richard Cordray as the head of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, evoking his executive rights to fill “vacancies that may happen during the recess of the Senate, by granting commissions which shall expire at the end of their next session”, as layed out in Article 2, Section 2 of the Constitution. When defending the appointment of Cordray, he said "We can't wait to act to strengthen the economy and restore security for our middle class and those trying to get in it, and that's why I am proud to appoint these fine individuals to get to work for the American people."

As Paul Harvey would say, “And now, the rest of the story.”

On December 8, 2011, Congress took a vote on the nomination of Richard Cordray as the head of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The results? 53 nay, 45 yae, thus blocking Cordray’s nomination. When asked about his plans regarding Cordray, he said "We are not going to allow politics as usual on Capitol Hill to stand in the way”, and talked about how all options were still on the table, and he was looking at a possible congressional recess so he could appoint Cordray without the approval of the Senate.