PDA

View Full Version : 2012 Poll Closing Times



Odysseus
11-05-2012, 01:41 PM
The Green Papers
2012 Poll Closing Times
for Statewide offices and Congress
General Election Chronologically
Primary Elections Chronologically (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/G12/closing.phtml?format=pc)
6 November 2012 General Election Alphabetically (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/G12/closing.phtml?format=ga)
6 November 2012 General Election Chronologically

related pages...
Polling Hours All Elections (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/PollingHours.phtml)
Polling Hours Primary Elections (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/PollingHours.phtml?format=p)
Polling Hours General Elections (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/PollingHours.phtml?format=g)


http://www.conservativeunderground.com/Flags/USA.gif
UTC
Eastern
Central
Mountain
Pacific
Alaska
Hawaii


Tuesday 6 November 2012


Northern Marianas (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/MP)
0900
UTC
4:00a
EST
3:00a
CST
2:00a
MST
1:00a
PST
12:00a
AKST




Guam (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/GU)
1000
UTC
5:00a
EST
4:00a
CST
3:00a
MST
2:00a
PST
1:00a
AKST
12:00a
AleutST
12:00a
HIST


Puerto Rico (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/PR)
2100
UTC
4:00p
EST
3:00p
CST
2:00p
MST
1:00p
PST
12:00p
AKST
11:00a
AleutST
11:00a
HIST


Virgin Islands (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/VI)
2300
UTC
6:00p
EST
5:00p
CST
4:00p
MST
3:00p
PST
2:00p
AKST
1:00p
AleutST
1:00p
HIST


Indiana (EST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/IN) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#IN-n)
2300
UTC
6:00p
EST
5:00p
CST
4:00p
MST
3:00p
PST
2:00p
AKST
1:00p
AleutST
1:00p
HIST


Kentucky (EST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/KY) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#KY-n)


Florida (EST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/FL) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#FL-n)
0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
AleutST
2:00p
HIST


Georgia (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/GA)


South Carolina (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/SC)


Vermont (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/VT) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#VT-n)


Virginia (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/VA)


Indiana (CST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/IN) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#IN-n)
0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
AleutST
2:00p
HIST


Kentucky (CST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/KY) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#KY-n)


North Carolina (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/NC) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#NC-n)
0030
UTC
7:30p
EST
6:30p
CST
5:30p
MST
4:30p
PST
3:30p
AKST
2:30p
AleutST
2:30p
HIST


Ohio (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/OH)


West Virginia (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/WV)


Connecticut (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/CT)
0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
AleutST
3:00p
HIST


Delaware (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/DE)


District of Columbia (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/DC)


Maine (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/ME) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#ME-n)


Maryland (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/MD)


Massachusetts (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/MA) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#MA-n)


Michigan (EST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/MI) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#MI-n)


New Hampshire (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/NH) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#NH-n)


New Jersey (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/NJ)


Pennsylvania (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/PA)


Rhode Island (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/RI) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#RI-n)


Tennessee (EST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/TN) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#TN-n)


Alabama (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/AL)
0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
AleutST
3:00p
HIST


Florida (CST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/FL) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#FL-n)


Illinois (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/IL)


Mississippi (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/MS)


Missouri (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/MO)


Oklahoma (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/OK)


South Dakota (CST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/SD) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#SD-n)


Tennessee (CST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/TN) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#TN-n)


Texas (CST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/TX) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#TX-n)


Arkansas (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/AR)
0130
UTC
8:30p
EST
7:30p
CST
6:30p
MST
5:30p
PST
4:30p
AKST
3:30p
AleutST
3:30p
HIST


New York (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/NY)
0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
AleutST
4:00p
HIST


Kansas (CST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/KS) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#KS-n)
0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
AleutST
4:00p
HIST


Louisiana (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/LA)


Michigan (CST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/MI) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#MI-n)


Minnesota (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/MN) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#MN-n)


Nebraska (CST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/NE) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#NE-n)


Wisconsin (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/WI)


Arizona (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/AZ)
0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
AleutST
4:00p
HIST


Colorado (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/CO)


Nebraska (MST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/NE) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#NE-n)


New Mexico (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/NM)


South Dakota (MST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/SD) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#SD-n)


Texas (MST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/TX) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#TX-n)


Wyoming (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/WY)


Iowa (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/IA)
0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
AleutST
5:00p
HIST


North Dakota (CST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/ND) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#ND-n)


Idaho (MST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/ID) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#ID-n)
0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
AleutST
5:00p
HIST


Kansas (MST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/KS) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#KS-n)


Montana (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/MT) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#MT-n)


Oregon (MST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/OR) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#OR-n)


Utah (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/UT)


Nevada (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/NV)
0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
AleutST
5:00p
HIST


North Dakota (MST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/ND) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#ND-n)
0400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
AleutST
6:00p
HIST


California (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/CA)
0400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
AleutST
6:00p
HIST


Idaho (PST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/ID) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#ID-n)


Oregon (PST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/OR) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#OR-n)


Washington (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/WA) *S (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#WA-n)


Hawaii (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/HI)
0400
UTC
11:00p
EST
10:00p
CST
9:00p
MST
8:00p
PST
7:00p
AKST
6:00p
AleutST
6:00p
HIST


Alaska (AKST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/AK) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#AK-n)
0500
UTC
12:00a
EST
11:00p
CST
10:00p
MST
9:00p
PST
8:00p
AKST
7:00p
AleutST
7:00p
HIST


American Samoa (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/AS)
0500
UTC
12:00a
EST
11:00p
CST
10:00p
MST
9:00p
PST
8:00p
AKST
7:00p
AleutST
7:00p
HIST


Alaska (AleutST) (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/AK) *A (http://www.conservativeunderground.com/forum505/#AK-n)
0600
UTC
1:00a
EST
12:00a
CST
11:00p
MST
10:00p
PST
9:00p
AKST
8:00p
AleutST
8:00p
HIST




Just for everyone's convenience, I've bolded the swing states.

Rockntractor
11-05-2012, 01:47 PM
Of course if this is inconvenient for any minorities or Democrat special interest groups I'm sure we can change it at the last minute.

noonwitch
11-05-2012, 02:30 PM
Most of Michigan is done at 8 pm EST. There's a corner of the UP that is in the central time zone, so our official time is 9 pm EST.


I'll go to bed when Ohio is called, unless it's called early. I have Bible study tomorrow night until 9, so it could all be over by the time I leave.

djones520
11-05-2012, 06:23 PM
My shift ends at 1030 at night CST. So I'll be stuck here watching it all go down. I wonder if there will be a cheer/moan in the AOC once a winner is declared?

Novaheart
11-06-2012, 12:10 AM
If Oregon holds things up again this year, they should be punished severely. I am tired of that kind of BS.

How come some states can have most or all of their stuff in by an hour after closing, but there are always these slow pokes we have to tolerate?

SaintLouieWoman
11-06-2012, 12:26 AM
If Oregon holds things up again this year, they should be punished severely. I am tired of that kind of BS.

How come some states can have most or all of their stuff in by an hour after closing, but there are always these slow pokes we have to tolerate?
Ya just can't trust those blue states. :biggrin-new:

TVDOC
11-06-2012, 01:13 PM
If Oregon holds things up again this year, they should be punished severely. I am tired of that kind of BS.

How come some states can have most or all of their stuff in by an hour after closing, but there are always these slow pokes we have to tolerate?

If I remember correctly, this is because Oregon doesn't actually have polls on election day, all of their voting is done by mail-in ballots, that can't be counted by machine (quickly).......happens every election.

doc

Retread
11-06-2012, 03:12 PM
If I remember correctly, this is because Oregon doesn't actually have polls on election day, all of their voting is done by mail-in ballots, that can't be counted by machine (quickly).......happens every election.

doc

I know WA used to do that and still may but the fruits and nuts up there are so predictable that no one will pay that much attention anyway.

Elspeth
11-06-2012, 05:19 PM
I hope you don't mind, but I am going to piggy back on this thread with something from the LA Times. (http://www.latimes.com/news/politics/la-pn-presidential-campaign-guide-20121105,0,5867231.story)

Election 2012: What to watch for as the polls close

All times are Pacific Standard Time. Add three hours if you're back East, two if central, one if mountain. Also, it's written by a left coast paper, so there's some bias, but the info is good.

....4 p.m. Virginia is the state to watch. A loss here would be a huge blow for Republican nominee Mitt Romney, who is counting on the state's 13 electoral votes as part of his path to the 270 it takes to win the White House. He needs to run up big margins in Hanover County (the Richmond suburbs), Campbell County (home to many religious conservatives) and the rural parts of the state.

President Obama's base is Richmond, with its large black population, and he needs to win big in the Washington suburbs of Arlington and Fairfax County. If either candidate underperforms in those areas, he's in trouble.

4:30 p.m. Polls close in three states, including Ohio and North Carolina. An Obama win in North Carolina could mean he would be headed for an electoral college blowout. But the state to watch is Ohio, which has emerged as the keystone of the campaign.

No Republican has ever won the White House without Ohio, and Romney desperately needs its 18 electoral votes, unless he can pull off a huge upset in Pennsylvania. Obama should run up big numbers in Cuyahoga County (Cleveland), and Romney will likely win big in the suburbs outside Cincinnati and parts of rural Ohio. The place to watch is central Ohio, centered around the Columbus media market. If Obama wins there, he will probably win the state and, quite possibly, the White House along with it.



5 p.m. The polls close in 16 states and the District of Columbia. Two of them are battlegrounds, Florida and New Hampshire. Florida, as most remember, was the decider after six tortuous weeks in 2000, and it remains preeminent among swing states. It has by far the biggest cache of electoral votes -- 29 -- among this year's battleground states.

Simply put, if Romney loses Florida, it's virtually impossible to see how he wins the White House. He needs a big vote in Escambia County in the state's conservative “Redneck Riviera” (it's a military stronghold as well) and Collier County, home to Naples and a large population of Midwestern retirees. The president needs a big vote in southeastern Florida, especially Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach counties. As always, the fight will likely come down to the nine counties along the Interstate 4 corridor between Orlando and Tampa, including Orange, Polk, Hillsborough, Pasco and Pinellas counties

In New Hampshire, Romney needs to win big in the two largest counties, Hillsborough (which includes Manchester and surrounding communities, and Nashua) and Rockingham. Both counties border Massachusetts, and voters there are quite familiar with Romney from his years as the Bay State’s governor. Obama needs a strong showing in the city of Manchester, which traditionally leans Democratic, to pick up the state's four electoral votes.



6 p.m. Polls close in 14 states, including Wisconsin and Colorado. No Republican has won Wisconsin since 1984, and a victory here for Romney and his running mate, Rep. Paul D. Ryan of Janesville, would give them 10 electoral votes and signal trouble for Obama.

The president should win by substantial margins in Dane County, home to the University of Wisconsin, as well as the city of Milwaukee. Romney's strength is the Milwaukee suburbs. The key will be the northern part of the state. If Romney is up by 10 or more points in the Fox Valley, which includes Oshkosh and Appleton, that's good for the Republicans. If Obama can hold down Romney's margin, he should carry the state.

In Colorado, Romney should run strongly in the counties of Weld (Greeley), Mesa (Grand Junction), El Paso (Colorado Springs, home of the Christian organization Focus on the Family) and Douglas. (The latter is midway between Colorado Springs and Denver.) Obama is expected to run up big vote totals in Denver, Pueblo (which has a sizable Latino population) and Boulder, home to the University of Colorado and its large student and liberal populations.

The race will likely come down to Jefferson County, a Denver suburb with large numbers of independent and fiscally conservative, socially moderate voters.

7 p.m. Polls close in four states, including Nevada — a one-time battleground that seems to have settled in Obama's column — and Iowa, the last of the true tossups.

Western Iowa, especially the area around Sioux City, is the conservative heartland, and Romney should clean up. For Obama, the challenge is running up the numbers in and around Des Moines. the area around the University of Iowa in Iowa City, and Cedar Rapids, Davenport, Waterloo and Dubuque. The winner gets Iowa's six electoral votes, which could be crucial if the results in the electoral college are tight....

Elspeth
11-06-2012, 06:42 PM
Exit polls re: Drudge:

EXIT POLLS: RACE TIGHT
R: NC, FL
O: OH, NH, PA, MI, NV
TOSS UP: VA, CO, IA

djones520
11-06-2012, 06:56 PM
Exit polls re: Drudge:

EXIT POLLS: RACE TIGHT
R: NC, FL
O: OH, NH, PA, MI, NV
TOSS UP: VA, CO, IA

Troubling, but exit polls haven't got the best track record. They seem to go heavier in the Dem's favor.

Elspeth
11-06-2012, 07:02 PM
Troubling, but exit polls haven't got the best track record. They seem to go heavier in the Dem's favor.

I'm keeping track. It's only 6pm EST and in CA we are still doing afternoon.

djones520
11-06-2012, 07:03 PM
What I don't get is why Drudge is flaring that out there. As I understand it, the exit polls are strongly being kept under lock and key until the polls close.

Drudge doing that just leads to shit like in 00/04 when voters got dismayed by what they said.

marv
11-06-2012, 07:35 PM
As of 5:30pm central time.....



http://members.socket.net/~mcruzan/images/exit.jpg


http://members.socket.net/~mcruzan/avatars/shrug.gif