Thread: Windows 7

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1 Windows 7 
    eeeevil Sith Admin SarasotaRepub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sunny,FL
    Posts
    43,188
    Anyone download it yet???
    May the FORCE be with you!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Southaven
    Posts
    98
    No thanks... I'll stick with Slackware Linux. A lot more trouble free.

    Jerry
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    CU's Tallest Midget! PoliCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    25,328
    vista bombing that badly?
    Stand up for what is right, even if you have to stand alone.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    793
    Quote Originally Posted by PoliCon View Post
    vista bombing that badly?
    Where have you been for the last two years???? Anyways, Windows 7 is based off Vista and is only a small upgrade...Vista is really "Windows 6.0", Windows 7 is really "Windows 6.1" (likewise, Windows 2000 was "Windows 5.0" and XP was really "Windows 5.1"). It's an evolutionary not revolutionary upgrade, as they say in the tech world. I'm fully content with Leopard (OS X 10.5) on my Mac and don't plan on getting a new PC anytime soon, hope yall don't experience too many upgrade problems.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    CU's Tallest Midget! PoliCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    25,328
    I'm still using XP - and when I must use vista - I put it in "classic" mode.
    Stand up for what is right, even if you have to stand alone.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    eeeevil Sith Admin SarasotaRepub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sunny,FL
    Posts
    43,188
    LOL!!! I just don't have a problem with Vista (at home).

    Now in work it's another issue. As a developer I'm used to storing temp
    and config files in the applications install directory. Vista doesn't allow
    that with the new security crap but there are ways around it. Lots of pissed
    off coders though. :D
    May the FORCE be with you!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    8
    All the computers in the house still run XP, and the kids computers run Ubuntu 8.04. Vista is a resource hog, and I don't get anything extra out of it except for the crap DRM.

    I"m happy with XP, and I'll stick with it until it becomes tough to get drivers for it.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member tacitus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    724
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottyK View Post
    All the computers in the house still run XP, and the kids computers run Ubuntu 8.04. Vista is a resource hog, and I don't get anything extra out of it except for the crap DRM.

    I"m happy with XP, and I'll stick with it until it becomes tough to get drivers for it.
    I'm running Ubuntu 8.10 on my machine. The heck with Windoze.
    "If every poor man is to come here and start requesting money for all his children, the applicants will never be satisfied and the nation's finances will collapse." Emperor Tiberius: Tacitus:Annals




    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member newshutr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    664
    I have it on my Mac as a dual boot. I installed it for shits and giggles to see how it is.

    Nice to be able to play Superpower 2 again.
    Yes..this camera is heavy.
    No...you can't be on TV.
    Look kid, go bother the reporter...I'm busy!!!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    CU's Tallest Midget! PoliCon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    25,328
    Quote Originally Posted by newshutr View Post
    I have it on my Mac as a dual boot. I installed it for shits and giggles to see how it is.

    Nice to be able to play Superpower 2 again.
    Mac's are for hippies!:p
    Stand up for what is right, even if you have to stand alone.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •