1. #1 Heroically persnickety typo crusaders set the United States straight. 
    An Adversary of Linda #'s
    Righting Wrong Writing Heroically persnickety typo crusaders set the United States straight.

........................."Is our Word Nazi working for these folks ?"

The scene of the crime: Madison, Wisconsin. Acting on a hot tip, Jeff Deck pulled down his dark fedora and headed to Brennan's Market with partner Benjamin Herson. "The store was pretty clean," Deck says, "but then we saw it." In the fruit section. A crime of omission. Deck and Herson approached a young woman who was making signs.

"Excuse me, ma'am," said Deck, 28, all business. "I'm a professional typo hunter and fixer. The sign for Washington apples is missing an n. It reads 'Washigton.'"

Jeff Deck adds an apostrophe at a Chicago clothing store.She gave the pair the once-over, shrugged, and went back to her signs.

"We can fix it ourselves," Deck said. "I have my typo-correction kit right here." (Deck carries the kit with him at all times, even to weddings.)

"Oh, no. We have a special marker for the signs," she said.

Deck and Herson went off by themselves and quietly debated changing it without permission—a bold move they don't like to make unless absolutely necessary. (A Los Angeles man threatened to call the police after he caught them adding an apostrophe to a "Cars Will Be Towed at Owners Expense" sign.) They asked another employee, who cheerfully gave them permission to insert the missing n. "It was the classic if-Mom-says-no-ask-Dad move," Deck says.