Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 'My family is turning feral under my very eyes'... 
    eeeevil Sith Admin SarasotaRepub's Avatar
    LOL!!!!!!!!!! :D

Subdivisions (1000+ posts) Thu Mar-18-10 01:45 PM
    Original message 'My family is turning feral under my very eyes'...

Soviet Union collapse author Dmitry Orlov, translates "a letter sent in by one young, once optimistic Russian who finds himself marooned in some blighted Boston exurb in southern New Hampshire".

Dear Dmitry,

I hope you don't mind that this is in Russian. I think that this way I can be more completely honest. I am a relatively recent graduate of one of the many faceless post-Soviet institutions of higher learning, with a degree in philosophy. Last year I moved to the USA and married an American woman.

The question of when the modern capitalist system is going to collapse has interested me since my student years, and I have approached it from various directions: from the commonplace conspiracy theories to the serious works of Oswald Spengler and Noam Chomsky. Unfortunately, I still can't fathom what it is that is keeping this system going.