Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 English professor 'thrown out of Starbucks after objecting to corporate language' 
    Lynne Rosenthal was ejected by three police officers after clashing with a barista about the firm’s ordering rules, which require customers to adopt marketing speak that many find artificial and cloying.

The academic, who is in her early 60s, particularly resented being to forced to state that she did not want butter or cheese on her bagel.

Many cafes ask customers whether they would like such extras with their orders in an attempt to boost takings.

She told the New York Post newspaper: "I refused to say 'without butter or cheese.' When you go to Burger King, you don't have to list the six things you don't want.

"Linguistically, it's stupid, and I'm a stickler for correct English."

Prof Rosenthal added: "The barista said, 'You're not going to get anything unless you say butter or cheese!'" ...
    link

I used to work in the food service industry and now I work with university professors. Let me assure you that this professor was being an arrogant ass.

A simple "neither" or "plain" would have sufficed but then she wouldn't have had the chance to show off her perceived superiority over the Starbucks minions.
    Last edited by jendf; 08-17-2010 at 03:35 PM.

I can see her point and I agree with her, although it is kind of nice hearing about a liberal professor being humbled a little.

Quote Originally Posted by jendf View Post
    I used to work in the food service industry and now I work with university professors. Let me assure you that this professor was being an arrogant ass.

A simple "neither" or "plain" would have sufficed but then she wouldn't have had the chance to show off her perceived superiority over the Starbucks minions.