Hybrid View

1. #1 Overseas DUers... This American wants to get OUT!!! 
    Sonnabend
    http://www.democraticunderground.com...ss=389x3835731

skypuddle (884 posts) Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list Click to add this author to your Ignore list Fri Aug-22-08 12:14 AM

Original message

Overseas DUers... This American wants to get OUT!!!
    Edited on Fri Aug-22-08 12:25 AM by skypuddle
    I'm a 26 year-old graduate student who is currently finishing up her graduate work and wants to go obtain a doctorate.
    In what? Womyns studies?

I wish to continue my studies overseas, as I utterly loathe living in the current pale imitation of the former United States of America.
    GREAT. When do you leave?

I would like any and all advice that anyone has to offer with respect to accomplishing this goal.
    Sure.

For informational purposes, I have a conviction for misdemeanor battery, and a misdemeanor possession of marijuana charge some years in my past.
    Uh, sorry, Australia doesn't take convicted druggies. Clean record needed for entry.

I know that these events will present a major stumbling block in my pursuit of leaving this uber-corrupt nation once and for all, but I feel that offering more available information is always a desirable tactic.
    You'd have had a much better chance if you had not gotten involved with drugs.That conviction will follow you. We don't take convicted druggies.

Sorry. :D:D

rt_from_Ark (1000+ posts) Click to send private message to this author Click to view this author's profile Click to add this author to your buddy list Click to add this author to your Ignore list Fri Aug-22-08 12:33 AM
    Response to Original message
    6. The three best ways of becoming a resident of another country:
    1) Marry someone from that country
    Fake relationship applications result in 1. deportation or 2. jail or 3. both.

2) Have relatives in that country