Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1 Desktop icons aren't loading on startup (Windows XP) 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,827
    When I start up Windows XP, it gets to the desktop and then stops without loading the icons. (It was working fine yesterday.) A couple times when I've restarted, the icons did pop up before the restart. I can get to a few programs using the Task Manager (ctrl+alt+del), but none of the internet programs work (probably because Windows isn't loading to the point where it works). Any ideas what I should try to resolve this?
    OPEACHMENT NOW!!!

    Stinger:
    "I was... ordered to drop my pants, bend over and spread my cheeks."
    --RagingInMiami achieving the DUmp's highest level of nirvana
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Sonnabend
    Guest
    Start with the XP CD in the drive and boot from CD...the CD will do a run through and probably re install a missing component. Thats always a first step..boot from cd.

    Let me know what happens, okay?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,827
    It might take a few hours if that (or anything else I found) doesn't work.

    I think I'm going to have to get one of the cheap surplus computers from the school as a backup.
    OPEACHMENT NOW!!!

    Stinger:
    "I was... ordered to drop my pants, bend over and spread my cheeks."
    --RagingInMiami achieving the DUmp's highest level of nirvana
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Sonnabend
    Guest
    It might take a few hours if that (or anything else I found) doesn't work.
    Jinx: do a reboot with the XP cd in, if that doesnt work, come back here and tell me and we go to the next step.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,827
    Okay, I think I found the problem. I restarted in the mode with all the system programs turned off and it came up fine. So I went back and started turning on the programs and restarting (started with one at a time, but then went to 5 at a time). It turned out to be the "DHCP client" program. I have it off and everything else on and the computer starts fine, but it's a program necessary for internet access, so I can't get online now on that computer.
    Last edited by jinxmchue; 08-23-2008 at 04:40 PM.
    OPEACHMENT NOW!!!

    Stinger:
    "I was... ordered to drop my pants, bend over and spread my cheeks."
    --RagingInMiami achieving the DUmp's highest level of nirvana
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,827
    Okay, a techie for my computer manufacturer got me a program to download and try. He seemed to know exactly what I was talking about.
    OPEACHMENT NOW!!!

    Stinger:
    "I was... ordered to drop my pants, bend over and spread my cheeks."
    --RagingInMiami achieving the DUmp's highest level of nirvana
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Sonnabend
    Guest
    Okay. Good stuff.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,827
    Quote Originally Posted by Sonnabend View Post
    Okay. Good stuff.
    Unfortunately, it didn't work. :( And I don't think they have any techies around for chat today. Someone on Conservative Cave mentioned something about using the XP disk to fix it, but I don't think we got any disks when we got the computer. The drive is partitioned, so I'm wondering if maybe what I need is on there.
    OPEACHMENT NOW!!!

    Stinger:
    "I was... ordered to drop my pants, bend over and spread my cheeks."
    --RagingInMiami achieving the DUmp's highest level of nirvana
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,827
    Okay, this is weird. I re-enabled the DHCP client and redid that program I got from Gateway, then restarted. It was a slow start up again with the desktop not loading, so I started to go into msconfig again and suddenly the stuff started showing up. I was able to access the internet, too. I don't ever look a gift horse in the mouth, though, so I restarted. Sure enough, the same problem happened. (In hindsight, I probably should've made a backup point.)

    *sigh* This is frustrating.
    OPEACHMENT NOW!!!

    Stinger:
    "I was... ordered to drop my pants, bend over and spread my cheeks."
    --RagingInMiami achieving the DUmp's highest level of nirvana
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,827
    Okay. It's very slow to do so, but the icons do come up and I can get online. Any ideas what would cause that?
    OPEACHMENT NOW!!!

    Stinger:
    "I was... ordered to drop my pants, bend over and spread my cheeks."
    --RagingInMiami achieving the DUmp's highest level of nirvana
    Reply With Quote  
     

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •