1. #1 The "I didn't even know you were conservative" moment... 
    When I was in college, I had a friend named James. We dated on and off, but we just didn't click in a relationship context.

He knocked around and became a teacher. I ... did whatever the hell I did.

I graduated college with his wife, Lilly.

Because of his wastrel youth, teaching profession, love of piercings, tats, fetish parties, hookah nights, pagan beliefs, and underground punk, I assumed he was a liberal. We never talked politics, always about drinking, 'the scene', and a various mish mash of all the stuff in the previous sentence.

He friended another guy on my list, a fellow teacher, but a blunt, forceful non-Paulian Libertarian/Conservative. I just thought it was mostly over paganism and anime.

But then I saw this on his facebook:

So I'm reading signs from the Wisconsin teacher union fiasco and realized how utterly retarded some people are. The leftist liberals are holding signs comparing the conservative governor to Hitler and Stalin........ They were both liberals who killed millions for their ideals. Where is the similarity? Do they not realize that they are much closer to either of those monsters from history than the governor? Sadly, I guess not. And some of the grammatical errors only further support that the teachers need less money.
    Damn. Heh. Who knew.

So I left a response:

You became a right wing ideologue under my nose... I'm so proud of you. I'm not taking credit AT ALL, just proud of you. That's all. :p

He's kinda touchy, so... I don't know how he'll take that. Anyone else have a friend whose revelation of shared beliefs made ya kinda warm and fuzzy inside? :D

~QC
    "The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe. To be your own man is hard business. If you try it, you will be lonely often, and sometimes frightened. But no price is too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself." Rudyard Kipling - (1865-1936)