Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1 Question For Internet Whiz Kids 
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    30
    I have a question for you internet whiz kids out there. Can a person ask their cable internet provider to change their IP address? Is such a thing even possible?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    An Adversary of Linda #'s
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    22,891
    Quote Originally Posted by CatholicCrusader View Post
    I have a question for you internet whiz kids out there. Can a person ask their cable internet provider to change their IP address? Is such a thing even possible?
    In most cases the Ip is dynamic .Try this ....
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xWw3r...layer_embedded

    ....................
    http://whatismyipaddress.com/change-ip
    ......................
    The following method will ONLY work if your computer is being assigned your external IP and not a router.

    How to determine if your computer is being assigned the external IP

    If your connection is direct to your computer and your computer gets the public IP and not a router, you can try this:
    For Windows 2000, XP, and 2003
    1. Click Start
    2. Click Run
    3. Type in cmd and hit ok (this opens a Command Prompt)
    4. Type ipconfig /release and hit enter
    5. Click Start, Control Panel, and open Network Connections
    6. Find and Right click on the active Local Area Connection and choose Properties
    7. Double-click on the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)
    8. Click on Use the following IP address
    9. Enter a false IP like 123.123.123.123
    10. Press Tab and the Subnet Mask section will populate with default numbers
    11. Hit OK twice
    12. Right click the active Local Area Connection again and choose Properties
    13. Double-click on the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)
    14. Choose Obtain an IP address automatically
    15. Hit OK twice
    16. Go to What Is My IP to see if you have a new IP address

    For Vista (Windows 7 is very similar)
    1. Click Start
    2. Click All Programs expand the Accessories menu
    3. In the Accessories menu, Right Click Command Prompt and choose Run as administrator
    4. Type ipconfig /release and hit enter
    5. Click Start, Control Panel, and open Network and Sharing Center. Depending on your view, you may have to click Network and Internet before you see the Network and Sharing Center icon
    6. From the Tasks menu on the left, choose Manage Network Connections
    7. Find and Right click on the active Local Area Connection and choose Properties (If you’re hit with a UAC prompt, choose Continue)
    8. Double-click on Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4)
    9. Click on Use the following IP address
    10. Enter a false IP like 123.123.123.123
    11. Press Tab and the Subnet Mask section will populate with default numbers
    12. Hit OK twice
    13. Right click the active Local Area Connection again and choose Properties
    14. Double-click on Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4)
    15. Choose Obtain an IP address automatically
    16. Hit OK twice
    17. Go to What Is My IP to see if you have a new IP address

    Some people have inquired about manually assigning their IP address. This IS possible, but you run a very high risk of your ISP banning you from connecting to the internet. To manually change your IP, follow the steps above for your Operating System. In step 9 or 10, depending on your O/S, enter an IP similar to the one displayed in the command prompt window. For example, if the IP displayed in the command prompt window is 75.1.2.3, change yours to 75.1.2.4. You’ll also need to manually enter the Subnet, Gateway and DNS Server IP addresses. If the new IP you give your computer doesn’t work, chances are someone else on the ISP network has already been assigned that IP. You’ll need to move on to the next one and keep trying until you find an open one. Keep in mind that some ISPs match up your MAC or modem data to the address that’s been assigned. If those 2 things don’t match up, you won’t be able to connect no matter what. If your router gets the IP and not your computer, you’ll need to http in to your routers interface and manually assign the IP there. It’s pretty much the same method as assigning the IP to your computer. The method that varies is in how you reach your routers interface. You can get the instructions from your manufacturer’s website.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by megimoo View Post
    In most cases the Ip is dynamic......
    What does that mean?
    And does this work for Win 7 too?
    Thanx.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Best Bounty Hunter in the Forums fettpett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Southwest Michigan (in Exile)
    Posts
    8,757
    Quote Originally Posted by CatholicCrusader View Post
    What does that mean?
    And does this work for Win 7 too?
    Thanx.
    it should, they didn't change much.

    you can also got to OpenDNS.com and go through them, it'll speed up your internet plus i believe it'll mask your IP
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by fettpett View Post
    it should, they didn't change much.

    you can also got to OpenDNS.com and go through them, it'll speed up your internet plus i believe it'll mask your IP
    Does that cost money?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Best Bounty Hunter in the Forums fettpett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Southwest Michigan (in Exile)
    Posts
    8,757
    Quote Originally Posted by CatholicCrusader View Post
    Does that cost money?
    i think there are parts of it that do, but for the most part no
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Power CUer FlaGator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Swamps of N. Florida
    Posts
    22,319
    Quote Originally Posted by CatholicCrusader View Post
    I have a question for you internet whiz kids out there. Can a person ask their cable internet provider to change their IP address? Is such a thing even possible?
    Why do you want to change it?

    I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.
    C. S. Lewis
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Quote Originally Posted by FlaGator View Post
    Why do you want to change it?
    That would be my question. If the OP simply wants to "become" somebody else temporarily, I'd suggest using a grown-up anonymizer or proxy like TOR. If the OP just doesn't want other users to see his or her browsing habits, it's simpler to just engage 'private browsing' through Firefox.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Power CUer
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    11,428
    Quote Originally Posted by FlaGator View Post
    Why do you want to change it?
    He said he'd been bounced off of most sites. Changing the IP address would help him get back on. I can see why he was bounced, from his brief time here.

    Crusie, we hardly knew ye.
    "Today, [the American voter] chooses his rulers as he buys bootleg whiskey, never knowing precisely what he is getting, only certain that it is not what it pretends to be." - H.L. Mencken
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Best Bounty Hunter in the Forums fettpett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Southwest Michigan (in Exile)
    Posts
    8,757
    Quote Originally Posted by Gingersnap View Post
    That would be my question. If the OP simply wants to "become" somebody else temporarily, I'd suggest using a grown-up anonymizer or proxy like TOR. If the OP just doesn't want other users to see his or her browsing habits, it's simpler to just engage 'private browsing' through Firefox.
    eh, this thread became pointless after he ranted and stomped his foot while leaving earlier this morning
    Reply With Quote  
     

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •