Stricter offensive bumper sticker law takes effect
Starting Friday [July 1], Tennessee drivers caught with obscene or patently offensive bumper stickers, window signs or other markings on their vehicle visible to other drivers face an automatic $50 fine….
Tennessee code 55-8-187 had allowed judges to decide on a fine from $2 to $50 based on their opinion.
Democratic State Representative Gary Moore, of Joelton, however, co-sponsored a House bill to stiffen the fine after he got several angry calls from constituents.
“On two different instances they had their children in the car with them and they pulled up on a vehicle that had an obscene bumper sticker,” he said. “I think it will make drivers a little more aware that there is a law out there.”