The age of Freedom (free driving)... could be coming to an end. With the advent of GPS navigation that electronically tracks how far you drive, more states are looking at charging drivers by the mile.
Oregon, for instance, is among several states that are taking a hard look at the idea, reports Paul Eisenstein of the Detroit Bureau.
As proposed in the Oregon Legislature, drivers could be charged 0.85 cents per mile through 2015, with the figure jumping to 1.85 cents per mile by 2018. The bill, for the moment, appears stalled. Texas and Minnesota are reportedly also taking a look.