Thread: The Bear Market

1. #1 The Bear Market 
    The current market is the worst we've seen in a few years.
    And it's bad. Today, the gains for 2012 are wiped out. There were no gains for 2011 since the S&P ended up right where it began at 1257.

So here we sit, measuring gains by small fractions and discussing what time of day on Jan 1, 1011 our charts start.

Gold bugs have done slightly better, but only if you count today's move upward.

I have a lot of experience, and I have been able to make it work for me by being short the S&P by buying SH, and by being triple short the financials by buying FAZ. Those two things are working for me as the market falls, and I intend to ride them as the market approaches its support point of 1200 or so. Maybe even 1150.
    And I have a fondness for issues that pay monthly dividends. Some of them are holding their own - others not so well.

Do you have a strategy?
    How are you handling the market?

Quote Originally Posted by Starbuck View Post

Do you have a strategy?
    How are you handling the market?
    I have made significant gains(almost doubled my investment) in the last 3 years. I'm not selling anything until the election. If Barack gets another 4 years, I'm cashing out. My strategy is a wait and see, till November.

I'm not selling.... yet -but will consider any new developments as they happen. I have the next 11 years living expenses in cash and twice that much more in a widely diversified portfolio of stocks and funds. At 70 with a heart condition, that oughta cover it.
    It's not how old you are, it's how you got here.
    It's been a long road and not all of it was paved.
    A man is but a product of his thoughts. What he thinks, he becomes. Gandhi
    Quote Originally Posted by Carol
    When I judge someone's integrity one key thing I look at is - How does s/he treat people s/he doesn't agree with or does not like?