Page 1 of 38 12311 ... LastLast
  1. #1 Are DUI checkpoints Constitutional? 
    Just curious....

Around here, if someone turns around to avoid a DUI checkpoint, the police immediately go after them and pull them over and make them take a breathalyzer.

I am just wondering - is this legal? I can understand checking people that drive through a checkpoint, but can you really just go and pull someone over for not wanting to go through the checkpoint and no other reason?

Last year I was probably the 50th car in line to go through a DUI checkpoint. After waiting 20 minutes and making little progress, I turned into a parking lot, and turned around. A cop immediately flew up behind me and pulled me over for not waiting another hour to go through the checkpoint. I had not been drinking and was let go, but only after spending another 20 minutes getting yelled at by the cop.

Apparently you are legally required to go through a one hour delay on your 5 minute drive home.

I am no lawyer, but I swear there is a free Commerce clause or something that says you are allowed to move around as you see fit without interference from the government. That is a gross oversimplification, of course, but I know some such law exists.

What do you guys think?
    **** Obama and **** you too.

Sonnabend
    I think that if you see a DUI checkpoint, turn around and run away, then quite frankly., you're a fucking idiot because you've just provided probable cause.

I am just wondering - is this legal?
    Yes.

can you really just go and pull someone over for not wanting to go through the checkpoint and no other reason
    Yes. They think you are drunk. Drunk drivers kill people.Women. Children.Themselves.Others.