Hybrid View

1. #1 Who Earns More: Professor or Fry Cook? 
    Fun article by a history professor who realized that it took him 25 years to finally make more than he would have made at McDonalds.

http://chronicle.com/blogs/conversat...r-or-fry-cook/

...I’m a tenured professor of history of science and mathematics at the University of Texas at Austin. I finished high school 25 years ago. What if instead of attending college I had worked at McDonald’s?

The company brags about opportunities for promotion. Many managers started as cashiers. So suppose I worked five years as a cashier, five as shift manager, 10 as assistant manager, and, after a total of 20 years, became a manager.

In 1988 a cashier earning federal minimum wage, $3.35, working 40-hour weeks, earned $6,968—just above the poverty level. Suppose I got a raise of 10 cents hourly each year, except when minimum wage increased. I’d earn just $39,936 in five years as a cashier.

Those are gross figures, unadjusted for inflation. You can make different assumptions, but consider this simple scenario.

Promoted to shift manager, I’d earn $59,984 over five years. Next, as assistant manager’s earnings would still be low: just $22,672 in 2003, when the National Average Wage Index was $34,065. Working 10 long years as an assistant manager, I’d earn $225,888. With minimal raises, as restaurant manager I’d gross $227,517 in five years.

McDonald’s gives some employee benefits. One meal per shift, say, 250 meals per year, amounts to $28,125 in 25 years.

Total: $581,450, before deductions for Social Security, Medicare, income taxes, and so on.

What about my real earnings?