1. #1 I said this last year and it deserves repeating. We didn't fight for your freedom. 
    link

upaloopa (3,828 posts)

I said this last year and it deserves repeating. We didn't fight for your freedom.
    I am a Vietnam vet. I was drafted and sent to war. In that war I fought to survive and for the survival of my platoon. Your freedom was not on the line but my life was. You and I were pawns of the MIC. The same goes for Iraq and Afghanistan vets.

I get a class news letter each year at this time and it is that letter which brings me to write this. In the class letter is all the "fight for freedom" Freedom isn't free", You owe your freedom to a vet" bull shit. I think that talk is more for the writer's good feelings than it is for mine.

We will never really face the truth about these wars if we continue to fool ourselves and make excuses for spending billions on death and destruction so a handful of wealthy people like Dick Cheney can grow their wealth.

I really hate what this day has become. A flag waving patriot barbecue day to swill beer on what usually would be just another work day.

Me I am left with my memories. I don't need any thanks.
    randys1 (885 posts)
    3. Thanks for your thoughts, and your service, but like you said, you didnt do it for me and I didnt

ask you to either.

We know why you were forced to fight and who profited, same types of folks who are today.

Americans (most) have no clue how our military and wars are seen by the rest of the world, if they did, would they care?

If they knew that most think of us as the death star types and most of our enemies as rebel alliances, would they care?
    NuclearDem (8,071 posts)
    5. The "thank a vet for your freedom" meme makes me sick. As a veteran.

I owe what freedom I have to activists, whistleblowers, protestors, and lawyers, not how many Taliban insurgents I helped kill.
    Star Member TexasTowelie (9,044 posts)