1. #1 This is what I do for a living... A fine Living At That 
    The head that you see rotating in the video is what I rebuild. They are a bitch. It all operates off of air and if thereís a tiny leak somewhere in that polish head, you have to disassemble the entire head to find it. I hate building these heads because Iím too meticulous for my own good. If a wafer breaks, you oughta see the absolute destruction that occurs.

The other arm that you see coming over the polish pad is a stainless steel puck with granulated pieces of diamonds to scratch, or condition the polish pad. It is a nasty, dirty process. Back in the old days, this process could be done with a chemical etch dip. When you get up to 4 or 5 metal layers, this type of process becomes necessary.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=f1_VKDKq184

What is it polishing?

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
    "Even if Trump didn't pay Russian hookers to pee on one another to defile a bed the Obamas once slept on it sounds like something he would do and that's all that matters." DemocratSinceBirth, Wed Jan 11, 2017, 09:32 AM

"Enemy. The word you are looking for is enemy. When the ideals of someone are antithetical to yours, you can say the word "enemy". DUmmy ret5hd Fri Aug 24, 2018, 05:10 PM

Quote Originally Posted by Dlr Pyro View Post
    What is it polishing?

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
    Itís a silicon wafer with hundreds or perhaps thousands of individual chips on it. I failed to explain that. That Applied Materials polisher looks like a 300mm wafer, about the size of a vinyl LP record. Our fab is 200mm wafers.

Basically, itís planarizing a layer of copper, tungsten, or oxide down to a level of angstroms. Itís similar to mowing your lawn, only upside down.

Senior Member Angry Old White Man's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Tecate View Post